Final USGA results arrive | The Triangle

Final USGA results arrive

Results of the 2011-12 Undergraduate Student Government Association elections were released to the organization’s website at 5 p.m. Thursday, including the position of president, which went to Adam Trosko.

Trosko beat out his opponent Sean Murphy by 48 votes; Trosko received 651 votes while Murphy took 603 of the votes. USGA elections were open from May 5-12 on the organization’s website.

Trosko, a junior majoring in architectural engineering, ran on the platform of ensuring “that students are made aware of every opportunity Drexel can offer, both academically and personally.” He is a member of Pi Kappa Alpha and previously served as Greek Student Representative and co-chair of Student Life Assembly.

In addition, Jin Lee will become treasurer for USGA after running undisputed. Other undisputed winners included Olivia McDonnell for archivist, Angela Chang for personnel director, Victoria Coppola for residential living representative and Graham Younger for college of information science and technology representative.

Additional unopposed victors were Matthew Bets, Nicole Kaufman, Usman Syed and Stephanie Glatts. Bets will serve as the representative to the College of Arts and Sciences, Kaufman as the representative for the College of Media Arts and Design and Syed as the representative for the School of Biomedical Engineering, Science and Health Systems. Glatts will hold the position of representative for the School of Nursing and Health Professions.

Events director was won by Julia Wetherhold, who seeks to draw knowledge from her experience as a Residential Assistant. Wetherhold ran against candidates Victoria Reimer and Bhanu ‘BK’ Trehan, who she beat by 81 votes.

Media and marketing director went to David Hunt, who plans to utilize various marketing strategies to help facilitate university events.

Technology director went overwhelmingly to Scott Weiss, who had previously served as Engagements and Operations Chair of USGA and technology chair of Alpha Epsilon Pi fraternity.

Stephanie Toronidis will become co-op representative. Toronidis currently serves on the SCDC’s Student Advisory Committee and will be a student panelist for the World Association of Cooperation Education Conference to be held at Drexel in June.

Lilly Hippel, sister of current USGA president Lucas Hippel, won for commuter student representative by 312 votes. She says she seeks to enact real change for commuters at Drexel, including starting a landlord review website and a commuter overnight program.

Kevin Peters will become Greek Student Representative next year, and Tony Fu, originally from Paraguay, will become the International Student Representative.

Omer Hashmi will become student organization representative, Zicky Villette the college of business representative and Michael Ferrino the college of engineering representative. Villette ran against two other opponents, winning by 42 votes.

Ashley Parker-Roman will serve as the transfer student representative. Parker-Roman stated in her platform that she wants to “turn [her] negative experiences into positive ones for others through conducting transfer student orientations and meetings with current transfer students to eliminate these problems in the future.”

The USGA Constitution was overwhelmingly approved with a total of 1,303 “yes” votes and only 37 dissenting votes. For a full list of election results, visit USGA’s website.